LSCU COOP / Communication & Press Room / News Feed / Top Stories / Alabama and Florida reps signing risk-based capital letter

Alabama and Florida reps signing risk-based capital letter

For more than a week, the League's governmental affairs team has been encouraging members of Congress to weigh-in on the NCUA’s risk-based capital proposed rule. More than 280 representatives have expressed concern with the rule by agreeing to sign onto a letter to NCUA authored by Reps. Peter King (R-NY) and Gregory Meeks (D-NY).

Representatives from Alabama and Florida to sign on include:

Spencer Bachus (R-AL) Gus Bilirakis (R-FL) Kathy Castor (D-FL)
Ander Crenshaw (R-FL) Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL) Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
Patrick Murphy (D-FL) Rich Nugent (R-FL) Bill Posey (R-FL)
Tom Rooney (R-FL) Dennis Ross (R-FL) Steve Southerland (R-FL)
Debbie Wasserman-Schultz (D-FL) Daniel Webster (R-FL) Frederica Wilson (D-FL)
Mo Brooks (R-AL) Terri Sewell (D-AL) Ted Yoho (R-FL)
Jeff Miller (R-FL) Joe Garcia (D-FL) Robert Aderholt (R-AL)
Corrine Brown (D-FL) Bradley Byrne (R-AL) Martha Roby (R-AL)
Alan Grayson (D-FL) Ron DeSantis (R-FL) Vern Buchanan (R-FL)
Ileana-Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)    

At least two to three more from Alabama and Florida are considering signing on. The deadline to sign was May 8. The League will continue to follow up with the remaining members of Congress this week.
Credit unions are strongly encouraged to write a comment letter ahead of the May 28 deadline. The League has many resources available on the Risk-Based Capital Resource webpage. The resource page includes a video presentation that is suitable to play for boards and staff.