LSCU COOP / Communication & Press Room / News Feed / Top Stories / Senate Reg reform conferees announced

Senate Reg reform conferees announced

The next phase of regulatory reform took shape Tuesday in the Senate. The Senate conference committee, made up of seven democrats and five republicans, was announced around lunch time with Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL) among the dozen chosen. Sen. Chris Dodd (D-CT) along with Sen. Shelby will lead the group. Also on the committee are Sens. Blanche Lincoln (D-AR), Tim Johnson (D-SD), Jack Reed (D-RI), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Bob Corker (R-TN), Judd Gregg (R-NH), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Tom Carper (D-DE) and Saxby Chambliss (R-GA). The House has not announced its conferees and some outlets have reported that it might not be before Memorial Day.

Sen. Dodd told the Wall Street Journal that he didn't expect negotiations to intensify until mid-June. The conference committee is expected to take a few weeks to deliberate the two pieces of legislation. You can read the entire Wall Street Journal article by clicking here.