LSCU Communications Contacts:

Mike Bridges
Vice President of Communications
Amy Jowers
Director, Communications
Natalie Edwards
Communications Coordinator

LSCU Cooperative Initiatives Contacts

Laura Vann
Vice President, Cooperative Initiatives
866.231.0545, ext. 2181

David LeNoir
Member Relations Consultant
866.231.0545, ext. 2158

April Ales
Member Relations Consultant
866.231.0545, ext. 1038

Judy Scott
Member Relations Consultant
866.231.0545, ext. 1062

Juli Lewis
Member Relations Consultant
866.231.0545, ext. 1108

LSCU COOP / Cooperative Initiatives / CU Award Programs

CU Award Programs

Following the philosophy of “People helping people,” credit unions make a difference for their members and the communities they serve. While focusing on member needs, credit unions work for the ongoing development of communities through policies developed and accepted by the members.

LSCU promotes community and youth involvement among member credit unions through recognition awards such as the Distinguished Service Award, Credit Union of the Year, Professional of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award, Louis Herring Award for Philosophy in Action, Desjardins Youth & Adult Financial Education Award, and Brother's Keepers. These award programs are in place to honor professionals, volunteers, and credit unions for excellence in leadership and service.

LSCU Awards

The LSCU is proud to recognize those professionals, volunteers, young professionals, and credit unions that have made outstanding contributions to the development and growth of the credit union movement.

Click here to view the 2015 awards brochure to learn about each LSCU award. Entry submissions are due to the LSCU on Friday, March 27, 2015.

Three ways to enter a submission!

(If submitting an entry for the Credit Union of the Year Award, click here for the fillable PDF of the required Financial Information Sheet for your credit union.)

The LSCU Awards were presented at the 2014 Southeast Credit Union Conference, June 13, 2014. Congratulations to the following recipients of the 2014 LSCU Awards:

Distinguished Service of the Year: Larry Scott - CAMPUS USA Credit Union
Professional of the Year: Arthur J. Wood, III - Railroad & Industrial Federal Credit Union
Young Professional of the Year: Stephen Taylor - Florida State University Credit Union
Volunteer of the Year: Lynne April - Alabama Credit Union
Credit Union of the Year:  
          Up to $100m: Baptist Health South Florida Federal Credit Union
          $100m - $500m: First Commerce Credit Union
          Over $500m: CFE Federal Credit Union
To read a full description of each 2014 LSCU Award recipient, click here.

Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service & Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Awards

CUNA Award Winners

To view the 2014 winners of the Dora Maxwell, Louise Herring, and Desjardins Awards, click here. To view a description of each winning entry, click here.

These two programs identify credit unions that demonstrate the credit union "People-Helping-People" philosophy. The Dora Maxwell Award program honors the work of credit unions in the community. For example, some credit unions have ongoing programs and establish a special relationship with local social service agencies or school programs. Other programs address many different needs in the community.

The Louise Herring Award program recognizes the practical application of credit union philosophy through internal programs to improve members' lives for example, programs that provide special assistance to low-income members struggling to pay heating bills or student-run in-school or campus branches are clear examples of the philosophy that sets credit unions apart from other financial institutions. To view the differences between the two awards, click here. To view some secrets of winning, click here. Here are some FAQs about the awards. State winners in the two programs advance to national competition for judging. The national judging is October. CUNA will notify the League of any winners later that month.

Desjardins Youth & Adult Financial Education Award 

The Desjardins Youth & Adult Financial Education Awards recognize leadership within the credit union movement on behalf of youth and adult financial literacy. It considers all activities supporting the personal finance education of young and adult members and nonmembers, including, but not limited to, face-to-face teaching, publicity, lobbying for curriculum requirements, teacher and volunteer training, and promotion and use of educational programs such as the NEFE High School Financial Planning Program® (HSFPP). 

To view some secrets of winning, click here. To view a program description of Desjardins Youth and Adult Financial Education Awards, click here. State winners in this program advance to national competition for judging. The national judging is in October. CUNA will notify the League of any winners later that month.

How do the Dora and Louise programs differ from the Desjardins program?

Training teachers or lobbying on behalf of state personal finance curriculum requirements are considered community service activities and would be eligible for the Dora Maxwell award. Operating an in-school branch is considered a member service activity and would be eligible for the Louise Herring award. All activities to teach personal finance to people of any age are consider financial education and would be eligible for the Desjardins award.

Questions? Contact LSCU Director, Communications Amy Jowers, at 866.231.0545 ext. 1020.