CU Award Programs

Following the philosophy of “People helping people,” credit unions make a difference for their members and the communities they serve. While focusing on member needs, credit unions work for the ongoing development of communities through policies developed and accepted by the members.

The League of Southeastern Credit Unions (LSCU) promotes community and youth involvement among member credit unions through recognition awards such as the Distinguished Service Award, Credit Union of the Year, Professional of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award, Louis Herring Award for Philosophy in Action, and Desjardins Youth & Adult Financial Education Award. These award programs are in place to honor professionals, volunteers, and credit unions for excellence in leadership and service.


LSCU Awards

The LSCU is proud to recognize those professionals, volunteers, young professionals, and credit unions that have made outstanding contributions to the development and growth of the credit union movement.

View the 2015 awards brochure  to learn about each LSCU award.

The recipients of the LSCU Awards are selected by a committee of credit union CEOs from various sizes of credit unions in both states. The 2015 winners (listed below) were announced Friday, May 15 and presented at the 2015 Southeast Credit Union Conference & Expo, June 19, 2015. View past winners of these awards in the LSCU Awards Archives.

2015 LSCU Award Recipients
  • Distinguished Service Award:
    • James Phillips, former manager of BF Goodrich Employees Credit Union (now Alabama One), credit union consultant
  • Professional of the Year (tie):
    • Betty Mixon, CEO, Gulf Coast Federal Credit Union
    • Bob Steensma, CEO, Five Star Credit Union
  • Young Professional of the Year:
    • Heather Mouhourtis, assistant branch manager, Community First Credit Union of FL
  • Volunteer of the Year:
    • Larry “Mack” Lee, board director, supervisory committee chairman, Coosa Pines Credit Union
  • Credit Union of the Year:
    • Up to $100 million in assets: Riverdale Credit Union
    • $100-$500 million in assets: Jax Federal Credit Union
    • $500 million or more: Florida Credit Union

CUNA Awards

CUNA’s National Award programs are designed to encourage and recognize distinguished credit unions which demonstrate social responsibility (the Dora Maxwell Award), the credit union philosophy (the Louise Herring Award), and financial education (the Desjardins Awards). Read summaries of the winning entries.

2015 CUNA Award Recipients – State Level

Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award   

The Dora Maxwell Award program honors the work of credit unions in the community.

  • $100-200m asset size:
    • PBC CU
  • $200-500m asset size:
    • First Commerce CU
  • $500m-1b asset size:
    • Alabama CU
  • $1b+ asset size:
    • CFE FCU

Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Award

The Louise Herring Award recognizes the practical application of credit union philosophy through internal programs to improve members’ lives.

  • $250m – $1b asset size:
    • First Commerce CU
  • $1b+ asset size:
    • CFE FCU

Dejardins Youth Financial Education Award

The Desjardins Youth & Adult Financial Education Award recognizes leadership within the credit union movement on behalf of youth and adult financial literacy.

  • Less than $50m asset size:
    • Tallahassee-Leon FCU
  • $150-500m asset size:
    • Legacy Community FCU     
  • $500 million+ asset size:
    • Pen Air FCU

Dejardins Adult Financial Education Award

  • $500 million+ asset size:
    • GTE Financial FCU

Thank you to all those credit unions that participated by submitting their entries. All were great projects and show your countless efforts in carrying out the “people helping people” philosophy. There are many great works out there by credit unions that did not submit an entry. The LSCU encourages all credit unions to submit their good works to be recognized on a state and possibly a national level.